Handle the holiday buffet like a pro

Jacki
3 min readDec 1, 2014

--

At my day job, we have a holiday luncheon. Everyone brings in their best recipes, hoping to win one of the coveted Amazon.com gift cards. And the best way to do that is to bring in rich, decadent, and amazing food.

This post originally appeared at jackihayes.com

The buffet line usually has at least 10 main dishes, 20 sides, and I stopped counting the number of breads and desserts.

By the time the luncheon is over, no one is capable of doing any work. We are all too uncomfortably stuffed and ready for a nap.

And this is only one of the many buffets and amazing meals of my holiday season. So how can I survive all that food and not feel worried about putting on excess poundage? Here’s a few tips

Get over it

Guess what, I’ll put on some weight during the holidays. The only way I won’t is if I restrict myself and refrain from enjoying the many wonderful meals with my friends and family. And I’ll feel deprived.

That is not how I am going to feel during the holidays. So right now, I’m getting over it. I will enjoy the many wonderful dishes, desserts, and treats and get on with life.

Create balance throughout the day

Let’s just be honest, most holiday parties and events are not much more than carbohydrate bombs. So I’ll plan accordingly.

On the day of the holiday luncheon, rather than having my normal sweet potato hash for breakfast, I’ll focus on eating high quality protein and fat, with perhaps a green smoothie (sans fruit) on the side. For dinner, I’ll have more high quality protein and fat, with lots of greens. The carbs, I’ll fill up on those during lunch.

Prepare before I go

I’ll be sure to create some if/then statements prior to the luncheon.

If there is bread, then I will allow myself one piece. If there is several desserts I want to try, then I will take half a serving of three only.

Going in with a plan keeps me from getting overwhelmed when I finally stand in front of the assortment of yum.

Plan on the spot

Rather than starting at the beginning of the line and grabbing a bit of everything because I don’t yet know my options, I’ll scan the buffet before picking up a plate.

I’ll limit myself to one plate full, and having scanned my options, I’ll know what I want the most.

If I still have room in my stomach after that first plate, than I can go up and try more, but only if I am still hungry.

Follow the first bite rule

Neghar Fonooni has a rule — when it no longer tastes as good as the first bite, stop. It’s a brilliant way to eat because it ensures that you are really enjoying every moment and aren’t just mindlessly nibbling.

You can also try the three bite rule. Taste test with your first bite. Is it worth another bite? If yes, take that second bite, and then with the third really savor the flavor. Now, are you satisfied? If yes, you can stop. Or you can decide it’s worth finishing.

With both of these, you have to let go of the mindset of finishing your plate and not wasting food. Another reason to really check out the buffet line before you fill up the plate.

Stop

One of my biggest difficulties is the food left on the plate. I’ll stop eating when I get full, but I stay at the table enjoying good conversation.

And because the plate of food is still in front of me, I find myself nibbling until I’m almost sick. This year, I’ll throw my plate away as soon as I am done and then sit back down to enjoy the company.

All of these tips focus on being mindful and aware of how you participate in this particular holiday tradition. Know where you may struggle, make a plan, choose wisely, savor every bite, and stop when the enjoyment is gone.

--

--