If I was French, I’d probably like crepes more… But I’m not.

Jack Russillo
3 min readMay 24, 2015

--

First of all, I’m part Swedish.

And I have a Swedish uncle who makes some of the best Swedish pancakes that have ever had the chance to grace this planet.

Seriously, they’re good.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve woken up to the sweet smell of whole wheat, golden-brown pancakes whenever my Swedish family, the Danielssons, were up for a visit.

While the adults and grandparents around the house would usually be up at the crack of dawn, talking about whatever world problems were popular at the time, each sipping on a freshly-brewed cup of coffee, I’d be curled up in some odd nook or cranny from the night before.

After a slow, very lazy wake-up call around 10 or 11 in the morning, I’d stumble into the kitchen, my stomach yearning for something, anything to gobble up. Luckily for me, Uncle Per was almost always in the middle of cranking out myriads of fluffy, delicious Swedish pancakes.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Swedish pancakes, they’re very similar to crepes — which are French — and, in my opinion, they’re better for you. Crepes, from my experience, are all made with white flour and are a bit sweeter than pancakes because they use more sugar. Swedish pancakes on the other hand, are made with wheat flour instead so they’re at least somewhat healthy for those consuming them.

But, similarly to crepes, Swedish pancakes can be topped with just about anything. My pancake this morning, for example, was wrapped around a chicken-apple sausage and was garnished with whipped cream and maple syrup.

Why should I have to choose between sweet and savory? I just want both.

Aside from having an extremely tasty breakfast meal, the tradition of waking up to a table lined with Swedish pancakes has a special place in my heart. If I’m eating them on any particular morning, it can only be because my loving family is all together. If my uncle isn’t around to whip up his amazing batter, then chances are that the rest of his family aren’t either.

How good is a family meal without family?

Well, it’s just a normal meal.

The Rating: 82/100

Pro: A one-of-a-kind delicious treat combined with wonderful company? Only a fool wouldn’t appreciate that.

Con: If I were eat have Swedish pancakes everyday I’d probably be pretty overweight and sick of spending so much time with my family.

About me:

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

Feel free to hit the “recommend” button if you liked my post so that others may find it and enjoy it as well.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.