Jack’s Rating: Flip-Flops

Jack Russillo
3 min readJan 15, 2015

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

I know it’s a little out of season, but I’m going to rate flip-flops.

Today, on my way to my first class of the day, I saw a guy walking around with his pant legs rolled up and a pair flip-flops on his feet.

C’mon bro! We’re in Seattle! In the middle of January! It’s 30-something degrees out most days!

That dude was either crazy or had some serious cajones. Or he was a freshman rushing for a fraternity and that was his form of initiation. Either way, that seemed awful.

However, during the warmer months of the year, I enjoy wearing flip-flops around. I haven’t worn a traditional pair of flip-flops in a while — traditional meaning the kind that goes between your toes. But those are still nice, as I do still have a pair. I just don’t wear them.

Recently, I’ve been more into wearing slides.

Slides are the kind of flip-flop that have a strap that goes across the front of it where you place your foot. They’re made for men, but they’re so darn comfortable that a lot of people wear them. They fit better on my feet, are much more comfortable than the original flip-flop design, and I think that they look cooler — There’s always going to be a style factor. Plus, for a few extra bucks, they can actually last for a couple years.

Flip-flops in general are cheap, small, easy forms of footwear. They’re not very durable and I can really only wear them outside for about half of the year.

But man are they nice to wear, as long as it’s not barefoot in freezing temperatures.

Jack’s Rating: 71/100

Pro: No other footwear is as easy to transport, put on, and buy than flip-flops as far as I’m concerned.

Con: They’re just too flimsy and are made for leisurely activities only.

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.