Jack’s Rating: Nike Socks

Jack Russillo
3 min readDec 7, 2014

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

For those of you that know me, I love socks.

They’re a subtle, yet very powerful fashion statement. Throughout our days, they’re with us every step of the way, helping us get to where we want to go.

Being an athlete, I’ve acquired a pair or two of socks. I’m a big fan of Nike socks. They are extremely comfortable and generally don’t wear out too fast. For example, I’ve had a few pairs of socks since I started high school and they’re still in decent condition after enduring four years of constant activity. Simply put, they’re reliable.

Next, let me touch again on the style aspect of Nike socks. Nike socks have grown to become an iconic image in sports. The simple black socks put on by Michigan’s Fab Five changed the sock game forever. More recently, Nike has been unveiling some quite flashy pair of socks, starting with the Elites.

They have the classic Nike swoosh on the side to boast the brand (Are you crazy? Of course Nike is going to advertise themselves). Unlike most socks, they have an extra design. The line-and-dot design on the back is now iconic with the sport of basketball and it looks pretty damn cool, I must say; I can hardly walk into a gym without seeing at least a couple pairs.

It only took off from there.

Nike has added new collections of designed socks for every sport such as the Elite Vapor, Hyper Elite, Match-Fit, and the Hyper Elite Fanatical socks. Each one has a different design on the back of the sock, with some incorporating a bit of extra padding here and there.

Nike has even recruited athletes to get their own collection of socks. Kevin Durant’s and LeBron James’ socks look pretty fly, if I must say so myself. But at over $30 for a pair of socks? They’re the only ones who can afford them.

Jack’s Rating: 88/100

Pro: Nike socks look awesome. Performance, comfort, and beauty all around your foot, who wouldn’t want that?

Con: They’re expensive as BLEEP!

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.