Portable CD Players

Jack Russillo
2 min readJan 29, 2015

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

Remember the Sony Walkman?

Yeah, me too. It sounds vaguely familiar.

Those pre-iPod music players were quite an innovation. Music? In my hand? Anywhere I want to go? And with some ugly headphones?!

Ah, those were the days…

Well, I thought that they were completely gone off the face of the earth. Today, however, I saw a girl walking to class, with a portable CD player in hand, and with the ugly plastic headphones on her head. I was shocked. I probably took a triple take — I hadn’t seen one in years!

Back before iPods existed, portable CD players were all the rage. I only remember because I know that I had CD’s at one point and those don’t fit inside an iPod. People could exchange music simply by tossing a CD across the table, inserting it into the disc player, and proceeding to, as the kids back then said it, “jam out”. Ah, those were the days.

Now, all our music is digital and fits inside our pocket. As hard as it is to admit, it’s much better the way it is now. I’m so thankful that I don’t have to carry around a book of CD’s anymore, especially since I listen to more music now than ever before. Other than the size of the device and how the music is stored, portable CD players and iPods are basically the same.

I’m very glad that I have my iPod to listen to music, as I wouldn’t want anything else to take its place. But I have to give props to that girl who had the Walkman today… You have the OG MP3.

Jack’s Rating: 47/100

Pro: They’re super retro and, at one point in ancient history, they were the only form of portable music.

Con: There’s a reason that iPods were invented…

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.