Two Weeks to My First Ironman Triathlon…..and I Am Terrified

Jack Shaw
3 min readJul 28, 2022

--

So I have decided to take the Ironman 70.3 plunge. That means a 1.9km swim, 90km cycle and a 21 kilometre run (or half marathon) for the uninitiated. Its fair physical test. Doesn’t have the same masochistic air as the full Ironman, but not an event a reasonably fit person could just rock up and do with a bit of huffing and puffing.

Image credit: www.trainright.com

The Decision

I’m not entirely sure when I made the decision. It must have been sitting at the back of my mind for some time, up there with my plans to start blogging and write my first book.

I did hop on the typical late twenties bandwagon and took up triathlon in 2018. A few friends were dabbling, and one friend in particular was in training for his first full Ironman event.

Previous Triathlons

This culminated in a summer racing season of two decent sprint triathlons and two Olympic distance events, all great craic it must be said. One event was particularly memorable, the Blessington triathlon event in county Wicklow, Ireland. It was a balmy and humid July day, with temperatures hitting a startling 25 degrees Celsius, or 77 Fahrenheit for those of you reading from on the other side of pond.

Those of you from warmer climes are probably thinking its not much to get excited about. Those from Ireland will understand. Triathlon Ireland announced to great excitement that with the heat wetsuits were optional. Few opted without the wetsuit as memory serves. Anyway I digress.

Image credit: author’s own

The Ironman goes to hospital

The text messages I received the morning after my friend’s first Ironman event should have been enough to discourage me from attempting the longer distance events.

This Ironman event took place in Austria, maybe 2 hours time difference from Ireland. Being something of a medical professional during my day job, I awoke to a series of messages from my friend in a panic about his state of dehydration. Eventually after a series of unopened WhatsApp messages he announced he was on the way to hospital, all before I had woken to see this stream of panicked consciousness. Thankfully he was fine and discharged after a bag of IV fluids.

Aches and pains….its tough getting old

All of this brings me to my upcoming event. The Ironman 70.3 in county Cork on the south coast of Ireland. Training has been inconsistent. The covid-era shut downs of these events for 2020 and most of 2021 had left me short of training motivation. I have stayed vaguely fit but not at the required volume or intensity for medium or long distance triathlons.

Running was going well in late 2021, then the inevitable niggles and pains started. A calf injury rehabbed well within a few weeks but then my knee started singing like Adele after a 10km run. The dreaded ITB (ilio-tibial band) syndrome is no joke and it hit me hard in early 2022. I’m not a big fan of non-traditional medical treatment (99% quackery) but red Tiger balm really is a wonder ointment.

I took the the pool at this point, and regained some confidence in the water in what is my strongest part of triathlon.

A mobility programme focusing on deep hip flexion and abductor complex (the bum for the uninitiated) exercises has kept the ITB issues at bay and cycling has progressed well.

My race day plan

The plan on the day is to be leaving transition one well within an hour. Allowing for the average speed of 25km/h on the bike I’ve managed in training I should get to transition 2 well within the 5.5 hour cut-off.

The goal for the run is finishing, plain and simple. I have never run the full half marathon distance, the hope is that a combination of adrenaline and fumes from caffeine laced gels, coupled with a few exuberant supporters will get me across the line. Pray for me.

Follow me for part two, which will no doubt feature a lot of complaining about hills and cycling up them.

--

--

Jack Shaw

Writer, thinker, an amateur and a professional expert combined. Published elsewhere but thats silly science stuff.