What’s going on with Dragon’s Dogma 2? — Should You Buy

Jackson Haime
6 min readMar 22, 2024

--

The game has been out for almost an entire 12 hours at this point and user reviews on platforms like steam are pouring in.

I started playing as soon as I finished downloading it on my PC. I had a great time and started this article much later than I should have because the game had me wrapped in its clutches. I was ready to hop online and praise Capcom for creating such a strong follow-up to a game I loved…

Then I saw this:

And it just keeps getting worse.

For what it’s worth, the absolute massacre in the review section primarily stems from two non-gameplay related issues. The game’s sometimes lackluster performance and the inclusion of micro-transactions in an entirely single player game.

These are both things that rightfully annoy players, but the review score makes the game look untouchable. There is going to be more conversation regarding this game’s release in the future, but for now, let’s talk about the elephants in the room and then we can tackle the game itself.

The Performance

In short, there are worse games, there are better games, at least where frame rates, bugs and other issues are concerned. At the time of writing, I’ve clocked over 5 hours in the game and I’ve had zero crashing and no game breaking bugs. That should be the expectation, but it’s something to be applauded considering the recent quality of day 1 AAA releases. Good job Dragon’s Dogma.

What is a consistent issue for many players is the amount of CPU this game eats for breakfast when you’re in NPC heavy locations. The capital city of the game, Vermund, being the worst culprit.

My AMD Ryzen 5 7600 ran at a smooth 120–100 FPS everywhere other than Vermund. As soon as I stepped within the city limits, my frame rate dropped to around 65 with occasional dips as low as 50. It’s a noticeable amount of stutter on mid to high range machine.

For what it’s worth, I still give the Dragon’s Dogman points for how it runs in other locations, but if Vermund were any worse , it would be frustrating considering many critical missions take place there. These preformance drops render many players experience aggravating to unplayable. Something doubly dissapoiting as its happening to machines well within the game’s suggested parameters.

Luckily, you will reach the capital well within the standard Steam refund window, so you won’t need to commit to the game before understanding that you should wait for performance and optimization patches that are coming down the line.

Overall, difficult to lay judgement at the feet of the game for the mid-tier issues here. We should expect better, but considering the points of comparison in the past years…

Well, at least I can play the damned game.

The Performance

Micro transactions in a single player game. Sheesh.

Let’s get this out of the way. Yes, this is greedy practice. Yes, I dropped 100 of my hard earned Canadian loonies on this game and Capcom is offering me the chance to pay more. Yes, I hate it in a weird abstract sense.

On the retched scale of in-game micro transactions, they’re tame, but they’re still there. Changing your character’s ‘frame’ after starting a file is the only thing that is truly expensive, and even that is farmable with some patience.

In terms of ‘bad’ micro transactions, the only potential contender is the ‘Port Crystal’, which allows you to create a custom fast travel point in a game that is anti-fast travel. At 5 hours into the game I have yet to see another portable port crystal, so this could be an exclusive item, but the previous entry in the series introduced the first about 20 hours, so they might just show up later.

Note: There have been reports of up to 10 being in the base game with no need to spend money, which is 8 more than we got in the original game. Not giving them a pass, but it once again keeps the items on sale from being ‘prohibitively expensive’ in game.

In the end, these are micro transactions of convenience. You can buy revives and waystones which are purchasable with the abundant in-game gold, and then you can buy rift stones whose primary use is hiring higher-level NPC allies.

Are these micro transactions pay-to-win? Debatably, but the only thing you’re competing against is the game so…

I don’t want to say no-harm, no-foul because it feels wrong to do so in adding micro transactions to a single player game, but they’re not in the way of gameplay, none of them are exclusive and they’re not barring content that is otherwise inaccessible in the game.

I paid my 100 loonies. I bought and received a complete game. They also put a vending machine in the corner for no good reason and it clashes with the aesthetic but isn’t doing anyone any harm.

What that metaphor is trying to say is that the idea gives me the ‘ick,’ but the execution makes that ick feel out of place. Micro transactions shouldn’t be here, but if they’re going to be, I appreciate the subtle execution.

Talking About the Game

If you liked Dragon’s Dogma 1 this is a terrific follow-up so far. Everything I loved about the first games combat aesthetic and feel is here with clear improvements in both tech and gameplay decision making.

If you didn’t like Dragon’s Dogma 1, this game will not convince you. It’s the same skeleton with flashy new skin. The game puts zero effort in the opening hours to break out of what Dragon’s Dogma was. It’s a refined version of the formula, but a vodka soda is a vodka soda.

I think this is going to be both this game’s greatest success and shortcoming, depending on who you ask. Dragon’s Dogma was unique when it came out and some people, like me, fell in love with it. More of that game was both everything I ever wanted and possibly uninspired. There are modern touches, but this game, gameplay wise, could just as easily be a remaster as it is a sequel.

They stayed faithful, which means it feels a little 2012. That is tragic or perfect depending on the person you’re interviewing on the street.

If you never played Dragon’s Dogma and are reading this because of the hype, curiosity, or you’re one of my friends that had to listen to be rave about the first game for years, well…

I think it’s great, but I’m a fan of the first game. The game delivers with what I wanted from it and more. The original had a dynamic combat system that’s still unique 12 years later. You have NPC companions that are useful. It has solid voice acting, fantastic attention to detail and an exhilarating presentation.

If the story is in any way similar to the original, it’s going to be a wild ride. With a notable step up in the writing quality, which has been lovely.

If you decide to try it, you’ll know whether the game is for you within the first 10 minutes, because the game makes its sales pitch early.

If you want an overall verdict because you’re on the fence. I heartily recommend it. It’s everything positive I mentioned above alongside the ability to try to stab a griffin to death as it flies around the countryside with you on its back. What’s not to love?

--

--