A World Without Light

Jackson Lapinski
3 min readMay 31, 2017

--

September 6, 2045

I never thought this day would come. I thought it was all a myth… The sun actually disappeared! This morning when I woke up and went outside to go to work, it was dark as night. At first I thought my clock was wrong, but all of my neighbors were outside too. Everyone looked so confused and frightened, and some people thought the world was ending! There had been rumors about the earth going into a dark stage, but no one believed them and no one thought it was possible. If the the sun is gone forever, I don’t know how we are going to survive. It is going to be so cold and the earth is going to become lifeless. A life without the sun will not be a happy life at all…

courtesy of http://weknowyourdreams.com/image.php?pic=/images/darkness/darkness-07.jpg

December 1, 2045

It has been a few months since the sun has been gone. Everyone is starting to lose hope that it will ever come back. The world is so grey and all of the trees and plants are dying. I don’t see very many people outside anymore, because it is so dark and cold, but when I do see people they are never smiling or laughing. So many people have been deprived from what they love to do, because there is no sun. The only weather we ever get anymore is rain and storms, which is depressing everyone. All of the leaders around the world have been talking to each other to find a solution for the sun disappearing. I really hope they find something…

September 6, 2046

Well, it has been an entire year now since the sun has disappeared and the world is turning into ruins. The population has been going downhill dramatically, because people are dying and no one is having babies anymore. The people who are still here are in complete survival mode, and almost everyone has lost hope. NASA is about to be shut down, because every time they attempt to send people into space, the storms demolish the ships. I never realized how important the sun was for humanity, and for the happiness of mankind.

September, 2050

5 years now since the sun has been gone, or at least I think it has been 5 years. It is to hard to tell what day it is, because everyday is dark. No one can even go outside anymore because it is too cold. So many people have died around the world from disease and starvation and the people left don’t even act like humans anymore. We all have to eat dried foods and live in these huge wear house buildings to survive. There is no laughter, joy, or happiness, and I don’t even remember what those emotions look or feel like now a days. The only reason I am even writing anymore is because of the small chance that the sun comes back and people can read what happened to the world when the sun disappeared…

Some day in 2053

IT IS A MIRACLE! THE SUN IS BACK! I never thought this day would come! Myself and all the people left in the wear house woke up from sleeping and there was this spectacular bright light shining through the windows. All the storms have stopped and the sun is back. It hurt everyone’s eyes and it took us the whole day just to get used to it. The moment I took my first step outside I starting crying. After all these hard years, I finally had this feeling I have been craving. It was a feeling that was mixed with relief, joy, happiness, and hope and the only thing that could possibly have given me it is the sun.

--

--