The Secret Key to Establishing a Writing Habit.

It’s not what you write, it’s where you write

Jackson Waddleton
3 min readAug 17, 2022

Interestingly enough, your brain forms strong associations between physical places and certain activities.

Your brain knows the kitchen table is where you eat. It knows classrooms are where you study and learn. And it especially knows your bed is where you sleep.

This is why scientists recommend only sleeping, and doing nothing else, in your bed. No working, no eating, no watching TV in bed — just sleep.

That’s because if you only sleep in your bed, your brain knows what your bed is for. It’s for sleep. That’s it.

So when you lie down at night, your brain automatically associates the bed with sleeping. And it shuts down your body for you.

On the contrast, if you do a bunch of things in bed, your head doesn’t really know what the bed is for.

Any given time you lie down, you could be getting ready to work, eat, talk on the phone, etc. Your brain gets confused, and it will be slower to realize that you’re trying to go to sleep.

This concept is why it’s incredibly important for writers to have a designated writing spot. Pick a place to write, and stick to it. When you sit down in the same place everyday to write, your mind starts associating that place with writing.

When I’m in one of my writing spots, I find it easier to focus and produce good work. It’s like magic!

I have two writing places: a coffee shop and a bookstore. It’s cliche, sure, but they work. I like these spots because they’re quiet, but not too quiet. They’re low-key enough to avoid distraction, but the gentle hum of music, customers, and coffee machines creates a great background score for my writing.

Plus, when I’m in public, I can use social pressure to my advantage. When I’m writing at home alone, I can easily get distracted scrolling my phone or zoning out.

That’s because no one’s there to see it happen.

If I do that at a coffee shop, people might wonder why I’m there in the first place. Who comes all the way to a coffee shop to sit alone and scroll on their phone?

That thought prevents me from getting distracted. It’s like everyone in the coffee shop is holding me accountable — they just don’t know it.

Also, when you have to travel to your designated writing spot, you’ve got some skin in the game. You woke up extra early to get to your spot on time. You spent your gas and mileage to get there. You drove to your spot for one reason: to write.

It’s hard to become distracted with those thoughts in the back of your mind.

Plus, great coffee.

So establishing a writing spot is important. I’m not saying you can’t become a great writer from the comforts of your home. I still do a fair amount of writing at home for convenience’s sake.

But if you want to hold yourself accountable and create a designated space for writing, getting out of the house is a great option. Writing is a highly portable activity; all you need is a computer or notebook, a power source, and time.

This means the possibilities are endless. Your writing “office” can be anywhere on earth; you just need to find a place you enjoy that helps you focus. And then you need to stick to it.

This tip may be the key for new writers looking to establish a writing habit.

--

--