Utilizing The Intro And Outro For My Video Essay

Jacob Crabtree
2 min readApr 3, 2022

--

Hi there! This post is part of a documentation project on how I wrote, scripted, narrated, scored, audio/video edited, and uploaded a rewrite video for the anime Demon Slayer. I detail my production process, and how my skills and principles can be applied elsewhere. Visit my landing page to see the rest of my process!

My thumbnail for my video: “I Rewrote Demon Slayer…”

Creating My Intro And Outro

Creating my intro and outro was all that remained in my video. I hadn’t written them yet, as I needed to see my entire video first to know what they’d need to include. These two sections would frame my video in proper context, as well as advertise what comes next.

My Intro’s Job

My intro had the job of setting expectations of what my video was. I briefly explained what I set out to do, as well as added a couple of disclaimers to set expectations.

My Outro’s Job

My outro wrapped my project up and advertised the future. This video is only Part 1 of my rewrite, so there’s still a second part that needs to be crafted. I took this time to cordially invite my viewers back for when the second part was ready. I also used this time to give credit to the artists I pulled music from, directing them to links in my description. Finally, I used my outro to invite my viewers to interact with the video and my channel, asking them their thoughts, and if they had any constructive feedback.

The Value of Intros And Outros

Intros and outros are valuable marketing tools. They can help advertise the video they’re featured in, as well as other past and future content. They help provide context for your projects and can be invaluable for inviting interaction from an audience.

Skills I Demonstrated

  • Recognizing the value of adding proper context to your project
  • Seeing potential in encouraging viewer interaction and how to encourage it

Applying These Skills

Not every piece of content requires an intro and outro, but recognizing the value of adding context to your product is a handy thing to have. Encouraging engagement from your audience with past, present and future projects is also a smart thing to utilize.

This was the final step in the production of the video itself. Finally, it was time to publish and add some details for the YouTube algorithm.

--

--

Jacob Crabtree

Hi there, I’m Jacob. I‘m at the start of my career journey, writing on all manner of things which you’ll find here.