I Take Prisoners

Jacqueline A
1 min readJul 25, 2021

I take no prisoners
How does that make you feel?
Excited?
Excited at the thought of being held captive by my love?

Safe?
Safe knowing that I won’t let you go?

Apprehensive?
Apprehensive of being enclosed in my heart?

Fearful?
Fearful that I will suffocate you with my undying love?

I told you
I take no prisoners, none

I will not imprison you in the gilded cage of my heart
A cage is a prison
Splattered with the desperate blood of captive souls
or encrusted with diamonds, a cage is a prison
I take no prisoners
None

I would have you free
Free to choose me above all others
Free to choose to love me every day

I would see you free from coercion
Free from emotional blackmail
Free to love me in your own way
Free
I told you… I take no prisoners

Free
Free to leave when I no longer satisfy your hearts’ desire
Free; Like a butterfly seeking the nourishing sweet nectar of another blossom

Free
Free like a swan to choose to stay by my side for life

I take no prisoners.

--

--