A brain dump on taking care of your brain.

For type A entrepreneurs who put themselves last.

Jacqui Hocking
7 min readFeb 11, 2018
#Inbox0 is the ultimate mindfulness practise.

After writing my last article about money, I had a lot of women get in touch thanking me for the support. Then, after my late night rant on alcohol, I too got a lot of private messages as it hit home for a lot of readers.

The conversations that followed — when either discussing alcohol or money; often led to a much deeper conversation on the topic of overall mental health.

Often entrepreneurs have foundations they build for themselves that come toppling down. Or ideals they live by; which are drastically challenged by circumstance or situations that completely wipe their sense of self-belief.

That’s why I thought I would dump down some ideas that I have found super interesting when it comes to existential anxiety, self discovery & wellness.

01. Forget the stigma of “mental health” and do a deep dive on the science of neurology.

Often, especially with successful entrepreneurs, bringing up the topic of mental health is difficult. Especially with the powerful men I’ve spoken too; no one wants to admit any kind of emotional instability. Looking after yourself is seen at best a “nice to have” but “who has time…

--

--

Jacqui Hocking

CEO & Storyteller. Forbes 30 under 30. Systems Entrepreneur, helping Visionaries get more Visibility. #Storytelling #Documentary #Strategy VSStory.com