My Wild Story: When My Father-In-Law Made a Move on Me

Jaden Craymer
3 min readMar 28, 2023

--

woman holding man and toddler hands during daytime

It was a hot summer afternoon when I decided to visit my wife’s parents. I was driving down the road and couldn’t help but crave something spicy. So, I pulled into my favorite Indian restaurant, picked up some Samosas, and headed to their home.

As soon as I walked in the door, I knew something was off. My mother-in-law wasn’t her usual self, and her father was staring at me like a piece of meat. I didn’t know what to do, but I figured I’d just brush it off and try to relax.

We all sat down at the dinner table, and my father-in-law kept getting closer and closer to me. At one point, he even put his hand on my thigh under the table. I was uncomfortable, to say the least.

Then it happened. He straight-up asked if I wanted to go to a strip club with him. I was shocked, and I didn’t know what to say. My mother-in-law was clearly upset and left the room, leaving me alone with her father. I told him I didn’t want to go, obviously, and he seemed disappointed. I decided to pack up my Samosas and leave.

When my wife came home from work that day, I told her everything. She was horrified and completely supportive. We decided not to confront her parents but to keep our distance from then on.

Moral of the story: Don’t go to your in-laws’ house with Samosas on a hot day. And if your father-in-law makes a move on you, just say no.

How I Move on from this Uncomfortable Situation

It was difficult to move on from this situation. I felt guilty and helpless for not being able to stand up for myself. I confided in a therapist, who helped me understand that I did the right thing by saying no and that I can’t control the actions of others.

I also talked to my wife about my concerns, and we worked together to set boundaries with her parents. We made it clear that their behavior was unacceptable and that we would not tolerate any further advances.

It took time, but eventually, we were able to move past this uncomfortable experience and rebuild our relationship with my in-laws.

Tips for Handling Similar Situations

If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, here are some tips to help you handle it:

  • Say no: It’s important to be clear and firm about your boundaries.
  • Confide in someone: Talk to a trusted friend, family member, or therapist for support.
  • Set boundaries: Make it clear that their behavior is unacceptable and that you will not tolerate any further advances.
  • Take time for self-care: Prioritize your mental health and well-being.

In the end, it’s important to remember that you are not alone, and there are resources and support available to help you get through difficult situations.

Conclusion

Dealing with uncomfortable situations like this can be challenging, but it’s important to prioritize your safety and well-being. By saying no, setting boundaries, and seeking support, you can move past these experiences and continue to move forward.

Remember, you are not alone, and there are people who can help you. Don’t be afraid to reach out for support when you need it.

--

--

Jaden Craymer

Software engineer, creative director, and actor with a psychological disorder. No niche. Just me and my brain.