The Life and Times of Jaden: A Guy with a Psychological Disorder Who Was Too Good for Any Group

Jaden Craymer
3 min readApr 14, 2023

--

man holding white balloon walking on street during day time

Introduction

Greetings to all you beautiful beings out there. I’m Jaden, a 27-year-old dude with an oustide-of-the-box personality. Growing up, I was a bit of an outcast. I never really felt like I belonged anywhere, which contributed to my current psychological disorder. But you know what? The fact that I didn’t fit in anywhere gave me the opportunity to create my own niche. I’ve had my fair share of struggles, but I’m grateful for everything I’ve been through because it has made me who I am today.

The Early Years

I grew up in a small town in Texas with my mom, who raised me as a single parent. I didn’t have a lot of friends, so I spent a lot of my time learning the secrets of my computer. When I was 12, I started coding and have been in love with software engineering ever since.

a woman with dreadlocks sitting in front of a laptop computer

The Middle Years

When I was 18, I moved to Los Angeles, where I studied computer science at UCLA and eventually landed a job as a software engineer. After a few years, I grew tired of staring at computer screens all day, so I decided to switch things up and pursue a career in creative directing.

Finding My Groove

pink and gold glitter nail polish

After working as a creative director for a few years, I started to get an itch to follow my passion for acting. I’ve always been a bit of a showman and found joy in making people laugh. So, it made sense to pursue a career where I can use those skills. I started auditioning for roles and, to my surprise, landed a few parts.

Overcoming My Psychological Disorder

I won’t get into the specifics of my psychological disorder, but let’s just say that it’s something I’ve struggled with for years. There were times where I didn’t think I’d make it through, but I did. Thanks to therapy and self-reflection, I’ve learned to understand my disorder and manage it in a healthier way. It’s something that I’ll deal with for the rest of my life, but it doesn’t define who I am as a person.

The Importance of Self-Acceptance

person in black shirt standing on gray concrete floor

One of the most important things that I’ve learned is the importance of self-acceptance. It’s easy to get caught up in negative self-talk and self-doubt when you have a psychological disorder, but it’s essential to remember that you’re not defined by your disorder. It’s a part of your story, but it’s not who you are. Accepting yourself, flaws and all, is an important step towards living a fulfilling life.

The Final Word

Looking back on my life so far, I’m grateful for the experiences that have shaped me into the person I am today. It hasn’t always been easy, but it’s been worth it. Through it all, I’ve learned the importance of staying true to yourself, pursuing your passions, and accepting yourself for who you are. And, most importantly, never losing your sense of humor.

green orange and blue abstract painting

Done

--

--

Jaden Craymer

Software engineer, creative director, and actor with a psychological disorder. No niche. Just me and my brain.