They Said Life Begins At 30, But I’m Already Dying Inside — The Trend I’m Aging Out Of

Jaden Craymer
3 min readApr 14, 2023

--

grayscale picture of person's portrait

As a 27-year-old, I am now officially too old, too unfashionable, and too dated. The world just moves too fast! I’m aging out of nearly everything. You name it, I’m not hip enough for it. More importantly, I feel like I’ve aged out of wanting to be hip.

The Clothing

I’m so outdated, my clothes look like they belong in the 18th century. I’m pretty sure that they’re not coming back anytime soon. I’m always a season behind everyone else in fashion. I mean, I’ve never been that up-to-date with fashion, but now it’s like a conscious decision. *Laughs*. I mean, who cares? Gas masks are a part of some fashion trends nowadays, you know?

woman near pigeons

The Music

Don’t try to convince me that I like this new genre of music. After hearing the stuff that comes out these days, it’s like my ears are starting to melt. When did music lose its soul? I mean, I’m not THAT old, but I feel like I can’t keep up.

several guitars beside of side table

The Technology

Are you kidding me?? New phone? New app? I don’t want it. I don’t know how to use it. I don’t have enough energy to keep up with it. Do you know how much effort it takes to learn all these new features or even just get a hang of it? I just want to stick to my Nokia 3310. Back at least I can start Snake.

gray and black laptop computer on surface

The Social Media

It’s insane how social media has exploded. Everyone thinks they are influencers now, and it’s just ridiculous man. But sure, go ahead, follow that TikTok dance. Let me grab a bucket because I just can’t keep up with this level of cringe!

assorted-color social media signage

Gone Too Fast

That all being said, I don’t even want to keep up. I don’t want to be up-to-date with the latest apps, the newest music, or the hottest trends. It’s all too much. Life goes too fast.

I’m just going to take a long nap, maybe even enter a coma. There’s no rush. Nothing important will happen while I’m gone.

Or will there be?

aerial timelapse photography of cars passing on road intersection at night time

Conclusion

Maybe it’s because I’ve already achieved so much. I’m already a software engineer, a creative director, and an actor. That’s right, I’m doing what I love, isn’t that impressive? *laughs*. Maybe it’s because I’ve already accomplished so much, that I’m okay with falling behind. Maybe it’s okay to not keep up and just let life happen.

Cheers to being too unfashionable, too undated, and too old! Raise a glass!

PS: Do bars still exist?

man sitting while holding a book watching on body of water

The End — I hope it wasn’t too long lol.

--

--

Jaden Craymer

Software engineer, creative director, and actor with a psychological disorder. No niche. Just me and my brain.