US Politics

The Transgender Problem

Examining the biggest issue of some state’s legislative agenda and it’s impacts on the rest of the state.

Jade Thea Kleeh
4 min readJul 5, 2024

--

Mississippi, the 20th state admitted to the union, boasts the worst child poverty rate, the worst life expectancy and the worst GDP per capita of any other state in the union. It is also the first of several states I’m going to focus on today. I collected each state’s data on life expectancy, GDP per capita and child poverty rate then ranked each of them in each category and finally took an average rank. Stay with me here, I promise I am making a valid point. I consider GDP per capita, child poverty rate and life expectancies to be quite universal statistics. Both sides of the aisle can agree it’s better for people to live longer, have more money and have less children impoverished, so these are three key metrics I am using today. Right now, I’d like to focus on the top 10 worst ranked states, they are, from worst to best:

  1. Mississippi (worst)
  2. West Virginia
  3. Alabama
  4. Arkansas
  5. Kentucky
  6. Louisiana
  7. New Mexico
  8. South Carolina
  9. Oklahoma
  10. Tennessee (10th worst)
A “PROTECT TRANS KIDS” sign (from: NBC)

--

--