Watch face

Jæder
2 min readOct 18, 2018

--

So since I started the whole "play a video on my smartwatch" quest, I realised it might make sense to learn something about Wear OS. If you haven't read my earlier post about this, read it now!

I decided to try my hand and creating a watch face, it seemed like a natural starting point. So I started up Android studio and ran the Wear OS watch face boilerplate in Kotlin. I read this guide to get some basic understanding, and then I got to tinkering. I wanted to match the look of my editor, which has a very pleasant color scheme.

I extracted the colors and set up a colors.xml in my Android project. After some tinkering I had a watch face I was happy with!

I did try out complications on the watch face but I had no good ideas for what they might do, so I skipped it for now. An unintended side effect of making a relatively uncomplicated watch face is that it's surprisingly battery effective. After a day of use I noticed that I had slightly improved battery life. I published the watch face to Google Play, you can buy it here, or if you want to build and install it manually you can grab the code here.

--

--