The future of the decentralized Internet might already be running under your desk

Moritz Jaeger
3 min readSep 6, 2014

I think of myself as a pretty tech savvy user. However, I don’t really run a server on the web. The reason? Servers are terrifying. You need to care for them, patch them, secure them against attackers – and of course pay someone to host them for you.

That said, even without a “real” server, I am running my own VPN and RADIUS servers to secure my network as well as an OwnCloud installation and a Tor-Relay. All on my trusty little consumer grade NAS that’s humming away below my desk.

The thing is: The NAS is, basically, an (almost) fully-fledged server. However, I don’t see it as one. It has a nice web interface, as well as an integrated manager for applications, a repository for software, which is not just curated by the vendor (Synology, in my case) but also allows the addition of custom repositories, curated by the community.

Yes, I know that approach is old news when it comes to Linux/Unix systems, however I really appreciate the simplicity on my NAS. It means that not only do I have an easy way to browse packets that are available for my architecture but it also allows me to keep the programs updated and, if necessary, have simple a way and central way to stop and uninstall them.

It also takes out a lot of the scary things that people normally equate with running progamms on *nix-based servers. Basically it is like installing an app on my smartphone — it might not be “leet”, but it works.

The NAS also prompts me whenever there is a new version of the operating system available that I need to install – thus keeping the system up to date and protected against attacks.

Decentralize. All the things

Ok, bear with me, this needs a little explanation. After Snowden, something had to be done. Smart people stepped in and took up the challenge. A little after a year, the first real project start to emerge. Mailpile, locally installed webmail system with integrated PGP support is nearing beta. DNSChain, a possible replacement for DNS, based on a bitcoin-like blockchain, is getting more stable every day. What I like most about these projects is, that they are designed to be run by as many people as possible, not by a few companies. But you need a server. And that, in my opinion, is a bit of a missed chance. I would love to run those programs, even in an early form.

Because I want to contribute. I want the web to change back to the open web that I know from before. But, as I said in the beginning, running a real server scares me. My NAS however would be perfectly fine for this. It’s hooked up to my provider via 50 Mbit/s down and a 10 Mbit/s up pipe. Yes, I probably wouldn’t be able to shoulder a lot of load but I don’t have to – that is the be beauty of the decentralized system. Even a small contribution can help an strengthen the overall network

Devs: Please show NAS communities some love

However I can understand why developers don’t support the devices out of the box – there are just so many different systems. I talked to the developers of Kinko.me (they want to offer really simple email encryption and are currently running an Indigogo campaign) and they are interested in running the applications on those devices, however they are strapped on time and resources. That sounds like a problem most other developers share – while they want to support the platforms, they simply can’t.

However, there is a way: try to include the developers that are active in the community. A lot of the current solutions for a reinvented web are open source, so it is (relatively) easy for other devs to chip in and adapt the code to use with their respective NAS.

But they need to know about your stuff. So, whether you develop a new protocol, a replacement for DNS, a secure cloud-based password manager or an easy to use webmail client with PGP support, please reach out and use the forums of Synology, QNAP, FreeNAS or Buffalo to get in touch with the developer community.

Image Credit: Triller on Flickr

--

--

Moritz Jaeger

German Journalist, writing about ITSec, Gadgets, Politics and other Stuff. Want to chat? Send a tweet @jagermo