How to play old Nokia games in your smartphone with an emulator (without root)

Jahnavi Jainwal
4 min readJun 1, 2020

--

Hi there! I am Jahnavi and I recently discovered something that I wanted to share with the community. Along the years there’s a couple times when I felt nostalgic and wanted to play old arcade games that were available on old Nokia phones, but I could never figure out how would I play it on a smartphone.

I thought that since I am in the Computer Science field now and know stuff about Android too, maybe I could give it a shot!

But after going from website to website, I finally found some sites which gave me the super-rare game that was most connected to, only to be stuck again that they were all either .jad/.jar extensions and could not be converted into apks easily.

So finally after a lot of snooping around, I was able to play the exact game.

Here’s a step by step tutorial on how you can do the same!

PS: This is not rocket science or a ‘developer’ thing either. Its super easy and quick. You don’t have to code or even use Android Studio. Also there’s no shady business like rooting your phone.

So lets get right into it!

Step 1: Go to the play store on your phone and search for “J2ME Loader”. I have provided the link to the app. Its only 3.3 MB so it shouldn't take much time.

Step 2: There are couple of sites that let you have access to java games which aren’t directly accessible from our smartphones. The links to a few are:

Phoneky

Dedomil

JavaWare

MobyWare etc.

I am using dedomil.net to download the 1.1.96 version of the game Fantasy Warrior 2: good. It has really cute graphics .Its about this warrior Rento, who has to battle with evil henchmen and villains like Medusa and Ratking. Its not as easy as it sounds (weird right? don’t judge me lmao :|)

Fantasy Warrior 2 link

Step 3: Now one thing to keep in mind when you're searching for games, be as precise with the name as possible because these are really old websites without a powerful back-end or front-end. This is like case sensitive programming, skipping one space could lead to “No results found”.

Step 4: When I click on the link to the game (I picked the FW2 :Good), it gives me some weird number links which maybe are screen resolutions and I selected 240 x 320 which is the biggest resolution.

Then I downloaded the game by clicking on the JAD (the first link). You can click on whichever one you wanna download. The game is less than 200 Kbs so that shouldn’t be a problem.

Once you download, it will directly open in the J2ME loader app that we downloaded. It will automatically convert our jar/jad file and load it up.

On clicking Start it will launch the game and you can play it.

Tip: I will definitely take some time to get use to the controls but it will be worth it. If you have any doubts regarding this, hit me up in the comments below and I will try to answer them all.

Contact Me:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/viiixennn/

LinkedIn: Jahnavi Jainwal

Good Day! ^_^

--

--