Are you making these 5 Cold Calling Mistakes?

Jaime A Lopez
4 min readSep 25, 2020

--

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

You’re in the middle of emailing an important client when your phone buzzes under your desk.

You pick up the phone and answer with a sigh.

“Hello, who is this?”

“Hey Karen, I’m Jaime with marketing.co. We haven’t spoken before and I know you’re busy so I won’t take up too much of your time. We’re a marketing company and we would love to take you on as a client and help you with online marketing so you can increase revenue. So what I’d like to do is take 30-minute’s of your time and schedule a meeting with you and talk about the features of our service. Are you free this Tuesday?”

*click*

You let out a sigh, run your hands through your hair, and dial another number.

Photo by Sebastian Herrmann on Unsplash

There are 6 common mistakes in this call. Can you spot them? Keep reading to find what mistakes to avoid.

Don’t miss the *bonus* cold call-script at the end.

1. State the Obvious

“We haven’t spoken before and I know you’re busy” The prospect knows this. Skip the filler and get straight to the point.

Say who you are, “Hey (prospect name), I’m Jaime with marketing.co” and then make a connection or ask questions to engage them. This will develop rapport.

And ask open questions. Questions that start with who, what, when, where, why, and how give you more information than yes or no questions. These questions are great for qualifying prospects. “What is your company’s biggest hairball?”

2. Start Negative

“I won’t take too much of your time.” Don’t start by taking from your prospect. Instead, gently ask for what you want and give them an out.

“Hey (prospect), I’m Jaime with Marketing.co, all I need is 2 minutes, and then feel free to hang up on me, alright?”

If they agree, you can pitch your product and offer an open question.

3. Make it about Yourself

“We’re a marketing company and we would love to take you on as a client and help you with online marketing…” The customer doesn’t care about what you want. They care about what they want.

Direct the conversation towards the customer. Ask open questions and try to qualify them.

“We’re a marketing company that helps restaurant owners with online marketing. My customers are typically looking to boost delivery orders. Does that sound like you?” When you say this, you focus on the prospect’s goals, as well as see if they are a fit for your product.

4. Don’t Respect Their time

“Hey Karen, I’m Jaime with marketing.co. We haven’t spoken before and I know you’re busy so I won’t take up too much of your time.” You probably hung up on me already.

Keep introductions brief and to the point.

“Hey (prospect), I’m Jaime with Marketing.co, all I need is 2 minutes, and then feel free to hang up on me, alright?” If the prospect agrees, you just got your foot in the door. Give them your quick pitch, then leave an open question for them.

5. Just Take.

“So what I’d like to do is take 30-minute’s of your time” Do you like when things are taken from you?

If you’re going to start off with an ask, make it small. “All I need is 2 minutes.” “Can you help me find the best person to talk about _?”

This way the customer feels helpful, open, and receptive.

Here’s how to avoid these mistakes:

  1. Jump straight into the intro and make a connection or ask a question.
  2. Don’t degrade yourself
  3. Focus on what you can do for the customer and what you can learn from the customer.
  4. Stick to the point.
  5. Develop a conversation before asking for anything.
  6. Schedule a call at the end of the conversation.

*Bonus* cold call script:

Photo by Vinicius “amnx” Amano on Unsplash

Prospect: Hello

Me: Hey (prospect), I’m Jaime with Marketing.co, all I need is 2 minutes, and then feel free to hang up on me, alright?

Prospect: Sounds good

Me: Here at marketing.co we help companies increase their social media presence. About _% of inbound leads come from social media, and companies are struggling to stand out on social media, which is why we use data-based marketing strategies to get companies _% more followers which means more inbound leads.

What is the company’s biggest struggle right now?

Prospect: (Answers)

Me: How would more inbound leads reduce that struggle?

Prospect: (Answers)

Me: I totally agree (prospect). Are you free later this week so we can talk more about how Marketing.co can help you increase your social media presence?

Prospect: (lists times)

Me: (schedule call) Alright thanks (prospect). Hope you have a good day, talk soon.

This post was inspired by a video from sales legend Art Sobczak.

--

--

Jaime A Lopez

I’m a confused ape with a big prefrontal cortex. I write about philosophy, spirituality, personal stories, and poems.