Getting Set up: Week 1 Update

Jaime A Lopez
2 min readSep 30, 2020

--

This update is part of a month-long project I’m doing to demonstrate my sales and marketing skills. I’ll be learning all about sales for Forward Kitchens by gathering 20 leads, learning a CRM, creating cold call/email scripts, and blogging about what I learned. This week I planned the project by creating a landing page, a task management system, and a time management system.

What I accomplished:

Created a landing page.

Set up a task management system with Trello.

And I’m ready to get started!

Lessons:

Brainstorm: Brainstorming clears the clouds. I don’t know about you, but I can get caught up in the details. Shooting ideas down left and right. What helps me approach this a project writing a list of ideas with no filters. Even if I wrote 10 dumb ideas there might’ve been one good one. Then I’ll choose the best ideas and shared them with others.

Share your ideas: It’s important to get a second pair of eyes on your ideas. Especially from someone experienced. While you may think your idea is great, maybe it is unrealistic, or just not that good. I shared my ideas with some peers and got the green light.

Set yourself up for success: Planning is crucial. Trying to create a project with no outline is like building a house with no framing. It’s destined to fall flat.

Success:

I created a realistic outline, time/task management system, and feel confident about starting my project. I look forward to seeing what I accomplish!

Plan Moving Forward

  • Update outline throughout the project
  • Update task management system
  • Get some good work done!

--

--

Jaime A Lopez

I’m a confused ape with a big prefrontal cortex. I write about philosophy, spirituality, personal stories, and poems.