Week 2 Update:

Jaime A Lopez
2 min readSep 29, 2020

--

This update is part of a month-long project I’m doing to demonstrate my sales and marketing skills. This week, I learned a new CRM for sales and gathered 20 leads for a company called Forward Kitchens.

What I accomplished:

I learned a new tech tool called Close CRM and recorded a video to demonstrate. Click here for the video!

I gathered 20 leads, added them to a google doc, and transferred them to a CRM.

Trello/Google Calendar Breakdown

Here is my Trello board for this week. All tasks for week 2 have been completed. Week 3 here I come.

Here is my google calendar. Notice how barren it is. After micro-managing my time, I stopped managing my time. Wrong move. After visiting both extremes, I’m finding my balance with google calendar.

Lessons:

Look at your Trello or to-do list often. I opened my Trello board. My eyebrows squeezed together. This can’t be right. I sigh and put my face in my hand. I gave myself an extra week to complete the project. An extra week I didn’t have.

Perfectionism leads to procrastination and stagnation: I looked at the camera and anxiety-filled a little knot in my stomach. I was so worried about recording the perfect video that I put it off until I wrote a few more notes. I recorded at the last minute when I was too tired to perform my best. Next time, I’ll write a brief plan, record a video sooner, and ask for feedback.

The Importance of Time Blocking: I was tired of micro-managing my time. So I didn’t manage it all. I still got the work done but it took way longer than it needed to. I now appreciate time blocking more.

Success:

I accomplished what I wanted to for the week, learned about the importance of time management, and realized the trap of perfectionism. The CRM wasn’t hard to learn, and I found some good leads that I can reach out to.

Plan Moving Forward

  • Time block on Google Calendar and stick to the time blocks
  • Look at Trello board at the start of the time block
  • When experiencing perfectionist tendencies, recite “Your business is with action alone, not with the fruit of action” from the Bhagavad Gita.

--

--

Jaime A Lopez

I’m a confused ape with a big prefrontal cortex. I write about philosophy, spirituality, personal stories, and poems.