TALKTIPS DAY 10: Read It To Yourself

I didn’t always do this, I started doing it around the time I started making YouTube videos. I record myself reading through my whole talk when it’s in very early draft mode. It doesn’t typically come out like I’m actually giving the talk, there are tons of holes and incomplete pieces, and even more pieces that end up needing to be reworked, revised or completely discarded.

What I’ve learned most by recording myself reading through my talk is where I’m really boring. If I check-out mentally while listening to myself on the playback, there are obvious weak points that need some thought.

Give it a shot, let me know how it goes for you.

→ READ TALKTIP DAY 11

///
Jaimee Newberry is a professional experimenter, speaker and writer who lives, learns and fumbles out loud. She’s the founder of tinychallenges.com and co-host of the tinychallenges podcast. She’s also the independent mother of two girls and two cats, and girlfriend of a beautiful, shy man who likes to remain mostly anonymous. More at jaimeejaimee.com

••• If you like this post, go ahead and Recommend ❤ •••

--

--

☕️ Coffee With Jaimee
TalkTips — a tinychallenges installment

Writer, Doodler, Professional Experimentalist. Living + Learning Out Loud. Author of 12 Ways to Be Better to Work With. Made: PictureThisClothing.com