OPENING THE VAULT

A Look at My Obsidian Daily Note Template

Keeping track of tasks, events, and the stars

Jake Mahr
15 min readJan 31, 2024

--

I have been using Obsidian as my main note-taking app for close to a year now. One of the first things I began doing when I started (likely on the advice of Nicole van der Hoeven), was to create daily notes.

Take a walk with me through my daily note template!

Initially, I began with the Daily Notes core plugin and a very minimal template. As with many other Obsidian users, however, I eventually graduated to the Periodic Notes community plugin, so that I could also easily create monthly and yearly notes, and a more detailed template that leveraged the Templater, Dataview, and other community plugins to automatically format my daily notes and to pull in information from elsewhere in my vault.

I wanted to share my daily note template here because I know I was personally looking for inspiration when I was first getting started with Obsidian. Please feel free to copy and remix to your liking, though note that much of the coding calls specific locations in my own vault and won’t work universally. If you’d like to skip the lengthy discussion, you can find the entire markdown file at…

--

--

Jake Mahr

Sharing some things I do/make. Learning in public while I'm at it. For now we’re looking at Obsidian, coding in R, and marketing/communications.