Tips, Snippets, and Hyper-Specific Examples

Obsidian Gem: Automatically Resizing an Image in an Obsidian Table

Using an inline Dataview function to adjust image size

Jake Mahr
3 min readMar 25, 2024

--

As I’ve mentioned before, I take notes on specimens that I pick up while on walks and hikes; things like fossils, tree bark, cones, etc. These notes currently look like this:

They contain:

  • A header with the item ID number
  • A table with necessary information, most of which is automatically populated using inline Dataview functions and the data stored in the callouts
  • Callouts with various pieces of data

I knew I wanted to include a photo of the specimen in the table itself. In the “Photos” callout, I compile all photos of the specimen, one of which is assigned a Photo:: key.

However, if I simply call this.photo in the cell of the table, the image scales with the…

--

--

Jake Mahr

Sharing some things I do/make. Learning in public while I'm at it. For now we’re looking at Obsidian, coding in R, and marketing/communications.