Why I’ll Be Writing a Post on Medium Every Day For a Year

Jake Peters
2 min readJun 9, 2016

--

I have a pretty complicated history with writing.

In school, my teachers always used to tell me I was destined to be a writer. Or a journalist. Or something. I dunno, it involved words.

But I mostly ignored them. And went in to Engineering. Y’know, something that actually matters.

Except over the years I’ve not been able to shake this weird feeling that maybe I am genuinely supposed to be writing more.

It’s manifested itself in a few weird ways. First, there was the couple novels I started writing. The novels I inevitably stopped writing, because I just had oh-so-little time. Sound familiar?

Then more recently I started a content marketing startup. And a knowledge base startup (still basically about writing).

But still, I wouldn’t give in to actually embracing writing as a thing of its own.

Until now.

From today, I’ll be writing at least something every day. Every. Single. Day.

I’ve chosen Medium because a) the formatting’s nice, and b) it’s public enough that I’ll be embarrassed not to.

Topics? God knows. Some stuff about startups for sure (including my latest). Maybe some productivity tips. Random things about my life?

Hopefully some of the content will be good. Probably most of it’ll be terrible. And there’ll likely be some cursing, both on and off screen.

Whatever happens, it’ll be an experience. And I hope you’ll tag along for the ride. Or better yet, join me!

I’m just a guy from the UK that’s okay at writing, better at startups, awesome at making coffee.

If you enjoyed this post, let me know by hitting the heart. Or send me a tweet or an email.

--

--

Jake Peters

Co-CEO @HelpDocs (we’re hiring!). I live in hotels full-time and eat 6–12 meals/week. Queer, nonbinary, they/them. 💻 🍳 🏡 🏳️‍🌈 ✈️