My Time As A Sports Illustrated Kids Kid Reporter

Jake Aron
3 min readDec 3, 2022
Me in the locker room holding the NCAA men’s basketball championship trophy
Me in the locker room holding the NCAA men’s basketball championship trophy

There I was in the UConn locker room, holding the NCAA men’s basketball championship trophy at 12 years old. Let me explain how I got there.

The year before, I wrote a fictional story about Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander. My dad, a former sportswriter, sent the story to an editor at Sports Illustrated Kids. Although she didn’t publish it, she recommended that I apply for their Kid Reporter program. I ended up among ten kids who were chosen.

My timing couldn’t have been better. I live in Dallas, and the Cowboys had just opened a new mega-stadium that drew many significant events — and I would have a press pass for most of them. My first assignment was the Final Four. When I arrived for Media Day, other reporters considered me a novelty act. Then they saw me ask legitimate questions, write stories, and do TV-style video updates. I earned their respect by showing I wasn’t there to play; I was there to work. Of course, the work was fun. I went into the locker rooms of all four teams, sat near the court for every game, and interviewed Hall of Famers Oscar Robertson and Alonzo Mourning.

Me interviewing NBA Hall of Famer Oscar Robertson
Me interviewing NBA Hall of Famer Oscar Robertson

--

--

Jake Aron

I am a third-year student attending the University of Missouri. I am a Guinness World Record holder and was formerly part of the Disney College Program.