The Five Thousand Dollar Electric Car

Jake Guillen
3 min readJan 15, 2021
image from kbb.com

The Nissan Leaf

I think we can all agree that Tesla’s are the king of the EV world, but like me and many others, they’re way too expensive. Even for the model 3 it cost a minimum of $36,000 and ain’t no one gonna catch me spending that much on a car! So when I was on the hunt for a new car, I discovered the Nissan Leaf. It is an ugly, low range, bug looking EV-hatchback; but for a starting price of $5,000 for a used 2011 model, all those cons seemed to disappear. And 6 months after discovering this car, I own one… and I love it!

The Pros

  1. The tech! It has a 7 inch infotainment system that is very easy to navigate and it comes with navigation, Bluetooth, aux, a CD player, and it supports hands-free calling. The navigation system will also show you where there are nearby chargers. It has push button start and keyless entry. Oh yeah, it also has a backup camera!
  2. Heated-EVERYTHING! It has heated front AND rear seats which warm up your tush to perfection. And my favorite feature-the heated steering wheel. I never knew I needed a heated steering wheel until now!
  3. The price! I purchased my 2012 Nissan Leaf SL for $5,000 and I have seen many others at that same price. If you plan on buying one, make sure the battery bar is at full health, this will make sure you get the…

--

--