Why You Should Be Going On a Half-Hour Walk Every Morning

Jake Harber
3 min readJul 12, 2022

--

Photo by Jordan McQueen on Unsplash

I had been working out consistently for nearly a year before I had really considered any form of cardio might help me not only with my fitness goals, but also many of my other goals, like productivity at work.

When I found myself plateauing in my fitness goals, I didn’t panic. It’s a regular cycle of making a plan, executing, plateauing, adjusting, repeat. One of my goals at this point in time was to wake up earlier, so I thought, “why not wake up early and take a brisk walk?”

Photo by Luke Chesser on Unsplash

So, I started waking up earlier and going on walks around my neighborhood. I would try and hit half an hour before I headed home and made breakfast. I’d listen to a podcast or some soft music. It almost served as a sort of meditation, getting me in the right mindset for the day.

Over the next few months, I saw drastic results both in my physical appearance and in my outlook everyday. According to healthline.com, walking is one of the best exercises for weight loss. I don’t know how accurate my Apple Watch is, but if I logged a walk in the morning, it seemed to jump-start my metabolism and I would actually burn more calories throughout the day performing normal tasks.

I think what really affected me more than this, however, was the impact that morning walks had on my mental health. Getting out of the house before sunrise, breathing in the scent of morning dew on the grass, and being enveloped in the for-now silent morning did so many things for me that therapy will never be able to do.

Photo by Jonas Weckschmied on Unsplash

Getting home from my walk every morning, I would be awake and energized, ready to go. I would cook breakfast, shower, get ready for the day, read, etc. Then, when I’d head to work or school, I’d rarely find myself nodding off or distracted. I was able to focus on my tasks for that day and put 100% of my effort towards them.

For me, personally, morning walks have evolved from a physical fitness goal to a mental fitness necessity. A walk first thing in the morning has made me feel happier, more energetic, and has allowed me to give my all in everything I do.

Hey! My name’s Jake Harber. I’m a college student located in St. George, UT studying communications. I love to write, learn, and listen to others. I’d love to chat — hit me up here.

--

--