Football is more than a game.

Jake Nye
3 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

It’s January 30, 2022 and 3rd and 13 as Jimmy Garoppolo of the San Francisco 49ers drops back to pass, with less than 2 minutes left in the NFC Championship against the LA Rams. Star Defensive Tackle, Aaron Donald #99, breaks free and makes the play that superstars were born to make and gets a piece of Jimmy G. With hands clasped, I’m standing at our seats in Section 305 of LA’s SoFi Stadium, here in LA, unfortunately surrounded by Niners fans, and all I care about in that moment is the outcome of that play that will send my Rams to Super Bowl LVI. Jimmy G, twirling to the ground, throws an ill-advised pass (We’ve heard that one before) and it is intercepted by the Rams. I turn to my sister, throw her up in the air and scream “WE’RE GOING TO THE SUPER BOWL”. As the moment hits me, I fall back into my seat and break into tears. This one is for Dede.

My Aunt Vera, who adopted the name Dede 23 years ago, when I continuously and apparently adorably mispronounced her name at 18 months old, was the biggest Rams fan on the planet and meant the absolute world to me. She passed away on October 4, 2021 after a 4 year battle with breast cancer.

We had such a special relationship. She called me her “sports buddy” and is the reason why I’m such a big Rams fan now. Growing up, I learned all about my favorite sports team from her. If I’m being honest, I would rather watch the game every Sunday with Dede and talk about each and every play than go out to a sports bar or a tailgate or even to the game if it meant she wasn’t going to be right by my side. We bonded over football my entire life and there is no way I’d be such a big fan without her. Even for the games we didn’t watch together, which weren’t many, we’d talk on the phone afterwards for hours and hours.

For many, football is a game, a sport that they love to watch on Sunday. They love rooting for their team but at the end of the day, when the whistle blows, it’s back to everyday life. To me, football is so much more than that. Football and the Rams brought me the greatest memories with my Aunt that I will cherish forever. It is the highest of highs and the lowest of lows being a fan of your favorite team but there is nothing quite like sharing those emotions with your favorite people. Football and the Rams created a relationship for me and my aunt that not many people, unless they’ve experienced it themselves, could even imagine and I am so so grateful to have had that for 23 years of my life.

At Dede’s funeral, which featured a massive royal blue & gold Rams floral arrangement, I spoke and ended my eulogy by saying:

“I miss my buddy and when the Rams win the super bowl this year, I know she will be watching.”

Now, the Rams are in the super bowl, one win away from doing something that I never got to witness with my aunt (The last time the Rams won the Super Bowl, I was only 3 years old). But I can’t help to think that they are going to do this for her because this Rams team reminds me a lot of her: Resilient, selfless, never going down without a fight and constantly bringing me joy. I wish more than anything that I could have her by my side one more time on February 13, 2022 for the big game, but I know she will be watching just like me.

Thank you football. Thank you Rams. Do this for Dede.

--

--