Living with an invisible illness

jakewc2
1 min readFeb 18, 2018

--

I have been living with HIV for 20 years and the thing that really gets me on a daily basis is peoples reaction to me not looking ill. I need a wheelchair because I cant walk long distances because of the neuropathy I have and the various symptoms that goes with it. I also had a Mobility car, that I had to get me around. Both with the car and now my wheelchair, the reaction of people when they saw me getting out of the chair was quite hurtful. I got things like there is nothing wrong with you you look perfectly healthy.

What they dont see if the extra pain I get after walking a short distance, the tiredness that goes bone deep after going out. I can sleep for up to 16 hours. The other week I went to bed Tuesday night and apart from a couple of times I got up for a drink, I didnt wake till Thursday morning. The drugs I have to take leave me feeling nauseous and stomach problems I have that come and go, all are invisible things that I have to put up with, but people dont get to see.

I just wish people dont make judgements just on what they see in a couple of minutes they see me.

--

--

jakewc2

I love animals, and looked after them for a good few years.