My Book Reviews: Pt2

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There
3 min readMar 17, 2020

I wanted to publish some book reviews.

I have so many book reviews on my Instagram page: @jakubreads

So, I thought I’d publish some on my Medium … cause why not?

My previous post in this series:

Source: Unsplash

The Organized Mind, Daniel Levitin

Source

I bought this book 3–4 years ago in Oxford. It’s a significant reminder of my time spent there and takes me back to reading in the cozy pubs of Wolvercotte. There are only so many psychology books you can read nowadays without noticing a fair share of similarities. I very much enjoyed what seemed to be novelty from Daniel Levitin’s work. It is a complicated book, which also makes finishing it notably fulfilling.

Radical, Maajid Nawaz

Source

Maajid is our own modern-day Martin Luther. ‘Radical’ by Maajid Nawaz is such a touching autobiographical account of not only one man; Maajid represents an entire generation of displaced & disenfranchised young kids that face racism, xenophobia, & extreme right-wing ideologues (Nazism, etc.).

I PLEAD with you — if you were to read one book this year — CHOOSE THIS ONE.

It is as if you are there with Maajid at the age of 14 when he recounts skin-heads continuously charging him. His recollection of his prison sentence, torture, & solitary confinement left me in tears, bewildered, & astonished with my own ignorance of how people are still treated today.

It is with immense pain that Maajid abandons Islamism (after 12–14 years), to become a moderate Muslim advocating for liberal Islam, not only in the UK, but also in third world countries that still forbid women to drive, read, and write.

I feel honored to have read this book. I am officially a big fan of you, sir. Gratitude is what I feel for this man. He is an ambassador and will do immense things. I really believe he will be what Martin Luther was to Christianity. He will reform Islam.

Annihilation, Jeff Vandermeer

Source

I’m going to have to say that I enjoy non-fiction more than I do fiction. So, this has affected how I viewed this book. I wanted to like it a lot, which probably affected my take on this book. The movie was fantastic, the book was also great. For some reason, it, however, did not connect with me completely. That does not mean that I will not try to finish the series, though.

Before you go…

🗣 I love connecting with fellow thinkers. Find me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or Instagram.

I’d love if you’d share the article on Facebook/TWITTER if you want your friends to benefit from it in some way at all.

I write to keep you thinking and to keep me thankful and reflective. Cheers and until next time,

keep reflecting.

--

--

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There

Journalist in Prague | Author of “Up in the Air,” “Beyond Reason,” & "Surprised by Uncertainty" on AMAZON | MA McGill Uni | 750+ articles with 1+ mil. views