The One Thing Kids Teach Adults

J.A. Longs
4 min readSep 27, 2020
An excited little boy, standing on the sidewalk, while waiting on the school bus to carry him off to school.
Photo by JLT Creative Solutions

What if I told you that when you were a child, you were fearless?

Your first day of school was scary, but you walked into that classroom ready for whatever came your way. Sure, you were shy and filled with nerves when it came to making new friends, but it didn’t stop you from saying “Hello”.

Perhaps there was something deep within you, at such an early age, that you understood that the other kids were probably just as shy and nervous as you, which gave you all the confidence you needed to open up.

What happened between being a kid and becoming an adult that we forget just how fearless we once were?

Heck, some adults go as far as projecting their fears onto others…

I’m going to share a story that I’m not proud of that happened a couple of years ago. It is a perfect example of me projecting my fears onto someone else because I felt like I wouldn’t have been able to perform optimally if I were in their shoes:

My husband and I had been working with our son on his throwing arm because it was going to be his first time playing flag football. Now, I want you to know that I love my little man, but at that time, he couldn’t throw far or straight if he was promised two corn dogs and a bag of chips — clearly, two favorite things for my five-year-old.

--

--

J.A. Longs

I am someone to someone, and I am someone who loves writing in her spare time. There is a sense of freedom in doing what you love.