Gaining followers, one at a time

Will You Follow a Writer Who Won’t Follow You?

The Followers Dilemma: how important is reciprocity?

James Bellerjeau
3 min readOct 20, 2022

--

Photo © James Bellerjeau

Fellow writers, a question for you: does it bother you when an author here follows few other writers? Or is it enough to say, “I like this person’s work, that’s why I read it.”

I’ve been active on Medium a short time. I’ve read a ton, commented when I had something to say, and followed authors whose work I enjoyed. Then people started following me, which created a dilemma. I’m going to call it the Followers Dilemma.

What is the Followers Dilemma?

Although new, I’ve lingered here long enough to see there is a healthy reciprocity at play. That is, if a person takes the time to read your story and interact with you, either via a clap or a comment, then the polite response is to check them out.

In my case, I’ve been so pleased when I hear from a new reader that I am only too happy to see what they have to offer. I’ve found something to admire in most people’s work. But not all.

  • Crypto get rich quick schemes? Not so much.
  • Erotica? Not my thing right now.
  • Languages I do not read? I feel I’m missing something…

--

--

James Bellerjeau

Mechanic of the human soul. I channel Seneca and Machiavelli at unpredictable intervals