iOS Development And How It Transformed My Life And Made Me Young Success

Daniel James
2 min readDec 26, 2022

I spent 4+ years in a college pursuing a Mechanical Engineering degree. During that time I purchased a used MacBook from Amazon and stumbled upon a free app Xcode.

Within days of downloading Xcode I was building applications. Within months, I was face to face with one of the leaders of the computer science department and interviewing for an iOS developer contract. After 4 years of studying mechanical engineering I had done ZERO mechanical engineering and made the equivalent in dollars.

My programming career progressed rapidly and it all felt too good to be true. I remember bumping into a desk as I walked into my final exam of college while reading a 6 figure offer addressed to me to be an iOS Engineer at Verizon. I accepted Verizon but quickly left Verizon to receive a large pay bump elsewhere. At my current company, I have received two pay bumps in the last year both over 10k. My current base salary is 140k and I have plenty of room to grow.

While kids in my generation have struggled to find work, especially in the midst of COVID, or workplace satisfaction I have comfortability with both. I have an inbox full of interview requests on LinkedIn and little issue in landing an initial interview. iOS Development has been the profession that just keeps giving.

--

--

Daniel James

Senior Developer based in Austin, TX. I share my computer science study with the world here.