Mainstream Media’s Latest Hillary Gaffe

James Carville
2 min readNov 17, 2015

Yesterday morning I was trying to recover from a disastrous weekend, after watching the utter humiliation that was the LSU/Arkansas game and then Sunday’s pathetic effort by the New Orleans Saints against the Washington Redskins.

I rolled out of bed, grabbed a satsuma (for the uninitiated it’s a citrus fruit that was brought to South Louisiana from Japan by Jesuit missionaries), my cup of coffee, some chicory, and began perusing the Washington Post.

I almost had a heart attack when I read the headline “Clinton’s Debate Performance Leaves Trail of Fodder for Political Adversaries.”

I said to myself, “Oh my God! What did she say?”

Then I found out that the major gaffe she committed was saying she went to college in the 60’s.

Are these people serious? Admitting that you went to college is somehow a considered a political gaffe?

For those of you who need a little history recap, The Washington Post probably did as much as anybody to prevent Al Gore from winning the 2000 election by more than a half million votes with a pack of stupid, made-up stories about Gore’s alleged exaggerations. As I’m sure some of you are aware, they were also the strongest supporters of the greatest foreign policy disaster in modern America history, that being President George W. Bush’s war in Iraq.

Then earlier in the campaign I had to come out of my retirement to slap Chris Cillizza around for his asinine story about a “full scale Democratic freakout.”

I urge the Post to have some adult supervision and allow me to enjoy my Monday mornings without the level of journalistic malpractice I endured today. There are however two first rate reporters currently on their staff, the estimable Dan Balz, and Robert Costa: hands down the best reporter covering the Republican Nomination.

I’d like to pay special kudos to Dean Baker over at the The Center for Economic and Policy research. He constantly points out the ongoing ignorance of the Post’s economic coverage.

It seems to me that The Washington Post’s political correspondents are envious of the stupidity of their economic reporters and are trying to match them blow for blow.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/clintons-debate-performance-leaves-trail-of-fodder-for-political-adversaries/2015/11/15/897780e0-8b9e-11e5-acff-673ae92ddd2b_story.html?hpid=hp_hp-more-top-stories_clintonaftermath550p%3Ahomepage%2Fstory

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-fix/wp/2015/08/18/maybe-hillary-clinton-just-isnt-a-very-good-candidate/

http://correctrecord.org/pay-no-attention-to-the-full-scale-democratic-freakout/

Thoughts on Media is a community publication on Medium, curated by ReadThisThing.

--

--

James Carville

Political strategist. Ragin’ Cajun. Father of two. Louisiana Dem. Gulf Coaster.