Self-love, what is it (part 3). Interest in yourself.

James Harris
3 min readApr 28, 2024

Self-love, what is it (part 3).

Interest in yourself.

In this article we will continue to consider self-love through the prism of E. Fromm as a feeling consisting of 5 components: knowledge, interest, care, respect and responsibility. All these parts are important and complement each other. Now let’s take a closer look at self-interest as one of the aspects of self-love.

How can you answer the question: “What could be interesting about me?”, “What could be interesting about me?” In the last article, I liked to consider and explore self-knowledge from three sides — passport, bio-medical and psycho-historical. Later I thought that for a more complete volume, situational knowledge of oneself, i.e., is not enough. I know and accept myself in a specific situation, who I am in this situation and what role I play in it.

And then interest in oneself can consist of interest in one’s passport age, in biological changes that occur almost every day, in psycho-historical events that occurred in a person’s life, as well as situational reactions and roles in which a person finds himself or chooses to play.

1. Interest in one’s age can manifest itself in the exploration of more and more new opportunities that are opening up, as well as voluntary refusal of missed ones. With age, a person can accumulate not only experience, but also wisdom, which he can share with his family and friends. If you do not accept your age-related changes, a…

--

--

James Harris

Psychology. It's my job to give direction to your life.