James Jeffery
2 min readNov 2, 2016

--

I’ve been using SO since the very beginning. I’ve had multiple different accounts over the years.

As of late I have noticed a huge change to the community. I not longer ask questions, or write answers to other people’s questions because I feel the community is dreadful.

I’ve asked over 300 questions at least over the years. Some ended up being very popular. I rarely had problems. But then suddenly I noticed my question being challenged in the comments by moderators and my questions put on hold.

It’s utterly frustrating to the point where I’ve had full blown arguments with mods in the chat. And even when you prove them wrong, they still stick to their guns.

I’ve found that IRC, Reddit, Slack and Discord to be much more helpful than StackOverflow this past year.

Some mods have some awesome rep, but then you check their Github and their personal work and you realise why … they have far too much time on their hands. I often wonder how they’re able to answer questions when their own work is sub-par at best.

I’ve read that mods know how to use Google better than most. Or have more time on their hands to do so. Which is ironic, because they’re taking content from one source and rewriting it on SO. Jeff’s pockets must be bulging with all that rehashed content.

It was an awesome place back in the day.

I’ve now blocked StackOverflow in /etc/hosts … in turn this has actually made me do more research and read the docs making me a better developer in general.

It’s horrible to say, but I can’t wait for that place to disappear from search engines and be replaced with a better platform that isn’t so strict.

Jeff is a douche.

--

--