5 TIPS FOR GREAT BLACK AND WHITE IMAGES — MONOCHROME PORTRAIT TECHNIQUES

James Nader
9 min readJun 15, 2024

UNDER EXPOSE OR OVER EXPOSE?

Black and white editing and photography

Black and white photography and beginning to shoot in black and white takes me back to where it all began. For me, this is where I started in photography. I was a student shooting monochrome films, processing and printing all of my work, and so I have grown up with the shill to produce compelling stories in black and white photography.

Over the years of shooting and processing, I learned how to process analogue films and prints and how to process all of my black-and-white photography in the digital darkroom utilising Photoshop black-and-white and lightroom techniques, which closely resemble the original processes. Although in this post I won’t be going in-depth about my exact processing of images, I will tell you how to think in black and white photography and give you 11 tips on how to shoot black and white photography and illustrations.

I would say whilst it is essential to understand the process, people get a little bogged down in the processing metrics and how to shoot it. I am a practical photographer and don’t pay too much attention to how it works out in advance, but getting on with it counts the most! Online, I see so many photographers producing blogs…

--

--

James Nader

Photographer & Director. Writing about photography education, mentoring photographers through photography and writing articles www.silvergumtype.com