Cul-de-sac Living Is Overrated

Jamie Alvarenga
4 min readMar 27, 2023

Cul-de-sac living may not live up to its glorified reputation…

Photo by Michael Tuszynski via Unsplash

What is it like living in a cul-de-sac? I often wondered this myself while growing up. My mother raised my brother and I on her own, and we moved around a lot due to rent increases. She always chose to live in old houses full of character, which were often located in downtown areas.

I had a couple of friends who lived in cul-de-sacs and I idealized their neighborhoods. A perfect circle to bicycle around! Newer homes without chipped paint! Neighbors who all seem happy and friendly!

Obviously, not everyone who lives in a cul-de-sac is happy and friendly. But, as a kid, it seemed that way, especially when television shows and movies portrayed model families living in similar neighborhoods.

I never thought I’d be able to afford a house, especially one in a sitcom type of neighborhood. Now, 20-something years later, I’m living in a home at the end of a cul-de-sac. Turns out, cul-de-sac living may not live up to its glorified reputation…

What is a cul-de-sac?

The term, cul-de-sac, originated in France. It means bottom of a sack, which does kind of describe a cul-de-sac and its dead-end-street. Cul-de-sacs often have a large circle centered between houses, which makes it easy to turn around.

--

--

Jamie Alvarenga

Top writer in Journalism sharing stories about writing, life lessons, humor, and more.