Protect yourself against Etsy scammers

Jamie Carter
10 min readApr 4, 2024

Examining some real scam messages I received on Etsy, learn to spot the red flags and protect yourself against scammers on Etsy.

Recently I received a wave of spam messages from people trying to scam me with fake Etsy accounts.

Being new to the Etsy marketplace and a new store owner on Etsy creating print-on-demand merch some of these messages can be exciting or even fear-mongering.

I had messages about collaborations, account verification, account suspension, and even account deletion!

In this article, I’ll show you a few examples of scam messages I received and how to protect yourself against them.

Business collaboration scams

A common scam is what I call a collaboration scam.

Out of the blue, I received this message on my Etsy store.

From: Stuart Brown

Hello,

We’re excited about your interest in collaborating with us to launch your store!

Our main objective is to ensure a smooth experience for you and your valued customers. We highly recommend promptly completing the verification process to authenticate your shop. This step is crucial for establishing trust within our vibrant community.

Simply click the provided link and carefully follow the instructions; it should only take 5 minutes of your time: [spammy-link]

--

--

Jamie Carter

Product designer, frontend developer and pharmacist. Passionate about Design, UX, CSS (Tailwind), DataVis and AstroJS. Twitter: @jamiecarter7. Work: simple.org