Building Pathways

Jamie Kirk Hahn
5 min readJul 7, 2015

--

by: Jodeci Farrington, Jamie Kirk Hahn Foundation Fellow

I’ve often thought: How can I make a difference in showing young people who encompass a disadvantaged background similar to my own?

How can I show them that there are people who care, that there are more resources and opportunities that are being presented to them, and that they have what it takes to lead?

My name is Jodeci Farrington and I was fortunate enough this summer to be welcomed into the Jamie Kirk Hahn Foundation as one of this year’s first class of fellows. Over the course of experiencing the life of being a fellow, the question, “What interested you to become a fellow” has come up a million times. Although my answer may not be as concise as my cohorts, I have many personal reasons for the passion and interest I bring to the Fellowship Program. The idea around leadership and striving to be someone who encompassed those social issues Jamie was passionate about, such as poverty, food injustice, hunger, and public education ignited me and pushed me to step out of my comfort zone to be a part of something bigger than myself.

Wanting to be the difference in someone’s life and prevent adolescents from repeating the cycle of the many social issues I have experienced is vital and is the center of my passion for wanting to be a part of this Foundation.

I was born and raised in Chapel Hill, NC by my grandmother, who was nothing short of amazing. I used to be ashamed of where I came from and the story behind why I was raised by my grandmother and not in a traditional setting as most of the families I attended school with were. But, the places I have gone, opportunities I have been presented with, and experiences I have been a part of, has made my story worth sharing.

Being raised by a single grandmother, without any other support was tough. And even though I always saw the light at the end of the tunnel and was always the optimistic one out of the bunch, my grandma reminded me relentlessly that we were poor. My definition of wealth growing up was the opportunities I had. Making the cheerleading squad, being able to afford the competitions presented, uniforms, food in the fridge, new shoes when we wore out the old ones. I saw that as wealth and being “rich.” What I did not see are the many sacrifices my grandma had to make to make our struggles bearable and unnoticeable.

I was that child Jamie fought for. I was many things that Jamie was passionate about, such as that child who received free lunch during the school year, and just made it by during the summer with a meal every night, growing up in poverty alongside my two brothers being raised by my grandma, and living in fear of not having a meal to eat after my grandmother was no longer in the picture. Because of Jamie and this fellowship, I now have an opportunity to express my passion in helping and guiding those who grew up like me.

My fellow cohort, Austin Gragson expressed a similar revelation this past week as he finished his initial meetings with his Jamie Kirk Hahn Foundation mentors assigned to guide him throughout the Fellowship.

“A message that keeps finding its way back to me is one of mentoring. Now that I’ve met with all my mentors I’ve realized how important it is to find people who will look after you and have your back, people who will guide you and help you on your journey. Mentorship is an incredibly important key to life that unites us in our struggles to find ourselves.”

This fellowship gives me an opportunity to provide those sharing similar backgrounds, struggling with similar questions, with guidance and reassurance that there is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

In addition, a large part of growing up were the opportunities and programs that counselors provided or suggested for my family. With this fellowship, my job has fallen underneath partnership research and development. What I am realizing is that there is an abundance of programs and opportunities that were not presented to me. It touches me in a way that makes me question, how are we getting information out to those who need services that each foundation or leadership program is offering?

In a recent meeting I had with a wonderful leader and founder of YES!, Bronwyn Lucas, a program that works with young adults around policy focused issues, I wanted to know if we were reaching those leaders who are so many times overlooked. After that meeting, more questions came to mind:

How are we as leaders, identifying those who are falling in between the cracks, or those who we label as “trouble makers,” giving up on their success, who may very well be the epitome of the type of leaders we need.

What are we showing them so that they can see they are worth investing time and effort into to break the cycle of poverty or any other stigma that is attached to them?

How are we getting opportunities and reassurance out to those who never had anyone else believe in them, helping them see that they possess qualities of leadership as well?

We may not have the answers tomorrow, or a year from now, but we must continue to ask ourselves, how are we as a community reaching them?

I believe as a Fellow and now being a part of the Jamie Kirk Hahn Foundation for life, creating pathways for young leaders to express themselves and witness what being a leader is about is imperative. Remaining steadfast in the events that we are a part of, such as service projects. For example, at Camden Street where we humbly give our time by volunteering at the community garden located there. In addition to service projects, maintaining site visits, where we expand our horizons and learn more about other amazing foundations and organizations that are around us locally. Last but not least, building upon Gathering for Good, which is of the essence of the many things we wish to accomplish. Bringing young leaders in the same room as those who encompass leadership to talk about issues that matter is fundamental for the emerging leaders we are probing for.

Join our Army of Jamies at http://www.jamiekirkhahnfoundation.org/videosplash?splash=1

--

--

Jamie Kirk Hahn

Inspired by the legacy of Jamie Kirk Hahn, we empower emerging leaders to spark change in their community and state. www.jamiekirkhahnfoundation.org