She Sparks: Meet Kristin Caddick

Jamie Kirk Hahn
3 min readJun 26, 2017

--

Photo by Jacob McCalip

A few weekends back, I traveled with the 2017 cohort of Jamie Kirk Hahn Foundation Fellows to Orangeburg, South Carolina to enjoy mustard-based barbecue, one another’s company, and the chance to explore Jamie’s hometown. During our time together, I was reminded of how we all embody the Foundation’s theme of #shesparks change.

From Jamie’s Garden at her school, her personal journals, to old photo albums, I gained the most insight about who Jamie was from her mom, Debra Funderburk. The epitome of Southern charm, our hostess also demonstrated the characteristics of someone who sparks significant change in small ways. Her big heart and hospitality made each of us feel welcome. It became clear how much of a positive influence Debra had on Jamie’s life. I believe her mom was one of the reasons why Jamie was a true changemaker.

Debra shared how Jamie crawled into her bed the night before she left for college to ask if she could sleep with her. As she proceeded to cry and sniffle, Jamie shared, “I want to do this — I want to go to college. I’ll be okay. I’m just scared.” The bond that Jamie shared with her mother was one that could not be broken. Jamie looked to Debra for guidance, and Debra guided Jamie to a path that would change the world.

Our trip to Orangeburg allowed me the opportunity to reflect on where my strength comes from. Many times in my life, I too, have feared unknown beginnings and have turned to my mom in need of comfort. While I have admired each story of Jamie’s heroism, I admired this one the most.

In living up to and carrying on Jamie’s legacy, it is reassuring to know that fear and tears may precede change. I think someone’s ability to harness that fear and turn it into good energy makes them a changemaker, as modeled by Jamie. I challenge you all to consider the roots of your strength and recall who provided you comfort and encouragement during the times you were afraid to spark change.

Lastly, in reading Jamie’s journal, I noticed one of the last projects she was working on was with Raleigh City Farm. She had countless ideas outlined about how to engage the community in urban agriculture and how to help grow the organization. Now that I am working with Raleigh City Farm for the summer, I intend to honor Jamie by carrying out these ideas. She was the spark and I intend to be the change.

Stay tuned for more fellowship updates and continue to seek the joy.

Kristin Caddick is a junior at NC State and a Caldwell Fellows recipient. A former camp counselor and rock wall enthusiast, Kristin also serves as a lead Teaching Assistant in the Nonprofit Leadership and Development program. Kristin is working with Raleigh City Farm in their communications, strategic planning, and data management.

--

--

Jamie Kirk Hahn

Inspired by the legacy of Jamie Kirk Hahn, we empower emerging leaders to spark change in their community and state. www.jamiekirkhahnfoundation.org