Elevator Pitch — Your 7 Word Bio

Jamie Koppi
2 min readSep 3, 2021

I read an article a few years ago about the Public Library of New York. The article (although I don’t know where it was posted) spoke about how they hosted a series of conversations with creative individuals, concluding each interview asking the guest to summarize their biography in 7 words.

I thought that would be a fun exercise, so I set out to do it for myself. I recommend this to anyone that is struggling to define their identity. The 7 word bio can be used as a litmus test for your actions against your brand.

When you aren’t focused or defined you are like a feather floating in the wind going every which way but the right way. You find yourself 3 years down the road and say “How did I get here?”

In order to avoid that feeling of lost-ness, it is important to really know who you are, because ultimately, the thing that is going to make you stand out is YOU.

Action:

Brainstorming: Think of 7 words or short phases that describe you. Not your physical appearance, but your actual personality and authentic self.

For an example, here is mine.

Simplistic : Less is More

Chaotic: A little bit of everything

Dream Big: I have big dreams

No BS : I just hate BS

Focused : eyes on the prize

Now take those words and create a sentence

Example:

Simply focused no BS chaotic dreamer

Take your time on this exercise, really think about yourself, what you represent, who you are, and how those can work together. How do you use this 7 word bio? In the future when you are composing a message, writing a blog post, designing an ad piece etc, make sure it reflects YOU.

--

--

Jamie Koppi

Just finding my place in this world, where ever that may be. Read More at jamiekoppi.me