Have I Found The Real Life Diagon Alley?

A simply must visit destination for Harry Potter fans

Jamie Hendy
3 min readMay 16, 2022
‘The Shambles’ In York — Photo Taken By Author

I am a Potterhead.

When I was growing up, I wished for nothing more than for the world of Harry Potter to come to life.

In my day dreams, I would receive a letter inviting me to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. I would be whisked away from my mundane life and my (in hind-sight) petty childhood worries.

Alas, the letter never came. At 31 years old, I am now far too old to attend school. It looks like I am destined to remain a muggle forever.

Whilst that magical invitation letter never arrived, perhaps what could be the next best thing has happened to me.

I discovered (completely by accident) what felt like the real life version of Diagon Alley. It is a street called ‘The Shambles’ in the small city of York, England.

Walking down the narrow cobbled street, I honestly felt like I had crossed the threshold into the world of Harry Potter. It looked just like Diagon Alley.

I almost expected to see Hagrid walking down the street towards me. The fact that you will find wizarding themed shops here (where you can buy replica broomsticks and wands, and even Bertie Botts every flavour beans) further adds to the surreal experience.

Upon further research, it transpires that for years rumours have circulated that this street was JK Rowling’s inspiration for Diagon Alley.

I must say, the architectural similarities between the two are uncanny. The street has become a popular tourist destination amongst die-hard Harry Potter fans, which has fuelled the rise of wizarding themed shops.

If you’re a Potterhead, this needs to be on your travel bucket list.

Is it really the inspiration behind Diagon Alley?

‘The Shambles’ In York. This Shop Sign States ‘Wands, Robes, Brooms, Owls, Cauldrons & Quills’ — Photo Taken By Author

As much as the locals (and myself) would like to believe that ‘The Shambles’ was the inspiration behind Diagon Alley, my research indicates that JK Rowling poured cold water over the theory in 2020. She tweeted that she had ‘never seen or been to The Shambles’, in response to a questioning tweet from a fan.

However, in recent times the inspiration theory has changed. Many people now believe that although ‘The Shambles’ was not JK Rowling’s inspiration, it did help to inspire the set designers for the film version of Diagon Alley.

Visiting ‘The Shambles’

‘The Shambles’ In York — Photo Taken By Author

Regardless of whether ‘The Shambles’ was, or wasn’t, the inspiration behind the book or movie adaptation versions of Diagon Alley, it is still a must visit for any Potterhead.

This street will gift any Harry Potter fan with a flutter of excitement in their stomach, a sensation of actually being in the wizarding world. The wizarding themed shops have been instrumental in creating this experience.

You can, just for a moment or two, forget your reality and immerse yourself in the wizarding world of your childhood.

Outside of ‘The Shambles’, there is so much more to see and do in the beautiful city of York.

I recently spent two wonderful days visiting the City. I can confirm that the people are warm and welcoming, and the food scene is one of the best outside of London. The architecture is incredible; with numerous medieval buildings and also remnants of structures dating back to The Roman Empire.

It might be helpful for aspiring travellers to know that York is approximately a four hour drive north of London, and that the closest airport is Leeds Bradford.

If you do visit ‘The Shambles’, I sincerely hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

I am humbled and grateful that you have chosen to spend your time reading my story, especially as there are so many talented writers on this platform.Please know that every clap, response and follow is more appreciated than you can ever know :)

--

--

Jamie Hendy

I hope you're having a great day! I'm a Real Estate Agent | Entrepreneur | Travel Enthusiast | Fitness Fanatic | Canzuk Advocate | Goofy Nerd | Optimist