CEO Diary #1: Phone Efficiency Hacks

Jan Beránek
2 min readApr 19, 2018

--

I spend a lot of time on my phone. The only time I take out my computer is when I need to write a longer email or look into more complicated spreadsheets. But I’ve come to realize this switching is taking too much time and isn’t productive when I already have a device in my pocket that can do most of these things.

I found that there are two parts to it: I don’t want to keep holding the phone, and I need a wireless keyboard that is light enough to carry around. I looked into multiple options for stands and wireless keyboards and this is what I arrived at:

Kenu Stance | Tripod

Stand — (versions with USB-C and microUSB included as well)

This stand is light and small enough that you can keep it in your pocket when you’re not using it, or quickly prop up your phone when you’re on a video call or want to start typing. It even has an integrated bottle opener.

Keyboard

iOS version
Android version

This keyboard is light enough and holds its charge forever so you don’t have to think about it and can keep it in your backpack. It’s on the pricier side, but I was able to get a refurbished one from Walmart for $17.

iOS has a relatively good support for keyboard shortcuts, So, if you’re familiar with those on Mac, you will be right at home here. Unfortunately, iPhone does not support the ⌘+tab shortcut as iPad does, but you can do ⌘+space and quickly search for the app and hit enter. Most productivity apps have their keyboard shortcuts built in like Apple’s native mail: ⌘+n is New, ⌘+enter is Send, etc.

Immediately after starting to use this combo, I decreased my usage of the computer considerably. I’ve worked like this in cafés, on planes, etc. It’s a good combination for writers on the go and utilizes what you already have.

--

--

Jan Beránek

CEO & Founder of U+_ (https://u.plus ), U+Ventures, Google Launchpad and ESA mentor