True Crime Memoir: A Life Divided

Jan Canty, Ph.D.
2 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Sometimes we know shockingly little about the people we think we know best.

Inspector Gil Hill of the Detroit Homicide Division had recently come off the movie set of Beverly Hills Cop One where he played Eddie Murphy’s boss. He wasn’t much different in real life. Intense. Direct. Short on words. He was in the prime of his career.

Inspector Gil Hill inside the Detroit Homicide Division around 1985.

My contact with Gil Hill resulted from the ten-day disappearance of my husband. The Inspector was the first to explain his indiscretions. Hill bluntly disclosed that Al had led a double life for the previous 18 months in the notorious Cass Corridor (a red-light district in the inner city of Detroit) using the name “Dr. Miller.”

· We were probably broke.

· He had been dismembered.

· The press had questions.

· Hill needed me at the morgue.

In those disturbing minutes, I not only learned truths about my unfaithful husband, I learned truths about life. They became my “lightbulb moments.”

Sometimes we know shockingly little about the people we think we know best.

When it comes to marriage there are things known, unknown, and known too late.

When adversity comes, you can permit it to define you, destroy you, or channel it to strengthen you.

I vowed I would not become collateral damage. I vowed to be the hammer and not the nail.

Over the years the question I have been asked the most is “How could you not have known?” It takes a full book to answer that seemingly simple question.

This account is raw and unfiltered. I want you to hear what I heard, see through my eyes, know what I thought. A Life Divided will speak for the “invisible” families in the shadows of gruesome homicides who know all too well that headlines, sound bites, formalities, and trials are just the prologue to the story.

--

--

Jan Canty, Ph.D.

Dr. Canty is a psychologist, podcast host, author, widow and cancer survivor. She writes an active blog and is on TikTok.