The Entrepreneurial Wife + Mom

Janeel Boon
2 min readSep 29, 2018

--

Photo Credit Drew Precious

Meet Evie Kanhai — Gurchuran, the founder and co-owner of EMTEC & Uplined Multimedia Marketing, & Java Coffee Bar in Guyana.

Today was surreal for me! In the best possible way. In my teenage years I was conditioning my life to head to the University of Virginia. I had so many connections in Richmond, and all the required information, I was even applying! My mind recalls vividly a conversation with Peaola DaSilva in the halls of Queens College, in a chance meeting, about my excitement to be on this path.

Then…Life happened, and I went on a different path, that at the moment seemed less exciting. I often kicked myself for not being more focused on academic pursuits. But gratefulness envelopes me when I consider everything in my life that has led to this peaceful place of content and joy with all that is my destiny.

And then today happened! WOW! Walking the tree lined streets to the UVA, with anticipation, and bubbling with excitement as I entered the doors, my face expressed the ‘stupid happy’ I was experiencing. Meeting amazing people… being enthralled with the passionate realignment of entrepreneurial thinking with Saras Sarasvathy (https://www.darden.virginia.edu/…/direc…/saras-d-sarasvathy/) keeps me thinking about the scripture held in my heart daily since I was 13 years old, Jeremiah 29:11

Not only will I be engaging in lectures at the prestigious UVA iLab and UVA Darden School of Business https://ilab.virginia.edu/, but our hub will be having intimate sessions with some of the leading forward thinkers in entrepreneurship and development. And it is fully funded and thoughtfully arranged. *PINCH ME*

No matter your history, no matter your impediments, strive daily to be better today than you were yesterday. Keep your dreams alive by helping others achieve theirs and without a doubt, chase those desires of your heart!

#ylai2018 #disruption #Effectuation #TeamCV

--

--