From Garden to Kitchen: Liquid Lemon Gold

How to make Lemon Myrtle Infused Olive Oil at home.

Lemon Myrtle Infused Oil amongst the leaves and spent flowers of the Lemon Myrtle tree. Photo by Author.

I love to use produce from my garden and Lemon Myrtle is one of my favourite trees. I don’t need any more reasons to justify its existence in a food forest but recently I discovered a new use and now it’s a staple in my kitchen! I use it whenever I need oil for chicken or fish dishes.

Here’s some of the other ways that I already use Lemon Myrtle (Backhousia citrodora):

  • To attract birds, bees and beneficial insects to my garden.
  • As a feature plant and in future years as a small shade tree. The roots are not invasive and it doesn’t drop leaves.
  • Substitute for bay leaves in cooking. (Lovely in a tuna bake!)
  • Stuff leaves into chicken before roasting and season the skin with dried powder, salt and pepper.
  • Bruise the leaves and add to drinks instead of lemon or lime wedges.
  • Dry and use the powder in shortbread, cupcakes or frosting.
  • Pour boiling water over the leaves to make a refreshing tea to drink hot or cold.
  • Leave some bruised leaves in vanilla or natural yoghurt overnight to impart a lovely lemon flavour.
  • Chew a leaf to help with cold…

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature