Pandemic gratitude letter to Trader Joe

Janet Gallin
3 min readJul 20, 2020

--

July 18, 2020

Dear Mr. Bane and each and every Trader Joe’s employee,

Today I went to my neighborhood Trader Joe’s after an absence of almost 4 months due to the coronavirus shelter-at-home. I have learned to do without much of what was once a normal part of life, but I ran out of one item I did consider essential. Your lip-balm.

So, off I went, found parking, and as I got out of my car, a lovely young man motioned me towards the front door. I stopped. He motioned me in. I was hesitant because there was, after all, a line of about 5 people waiting their turn. This short line in comparison to the line that used to stretch for about 3 blocks was no problem really. But the darling man kept motioning me. Aha! I asked him if this is because I am an old person. He nodded. I accepted the privilege and told him I would only be a minute or two as I needed only lip-balm. He assured me I did not have to rush.

Well, as it happens there was none of your fabulous lip-balm on the shelf, but as I walked through the store following the arrows, I decided to treat myself to some fresh milk, produce (I like to make soup for some neighbors), a turkey breast, tortillas (yes, I like everything wrapped in them) and because yours is, in my opinion, the best ever, whipped cream cheese.

I probably should have written this letter ages ago when I first became such a fan of your stores, but what can I say other than sometimes we take things more for granted than we should.

I am so done with that.

In a world that has been upended in so many ways right now, I pause to see that we should take nothing for granted only because nothing is for granted. Everything we have in the material world for sure is thanks to the intelligence and hard work of so many people.

So, years late but just as heartfelt, I now want to thank you and every single person who works for Trader Joe’s. My deep appreciation and admiration to all the Trader Joe’s people who organize to get goods to all your stores, to the truck drivers who get it to the stores, to the store managers who keep their eyes on everything that needs to be done. I thank the checkers at my store always welcoming. My thanks to the employees who keep the shelves loaded and are always willing to guide us to what we need. Thanks to the vigilance of those keeping us 6 feet apart, who have physically blocked aisles so that we do not wander in the wrong direction, and thanks to the compassionate and diligent people who show up to work each day. I do not even begin to know how and who gets your personal products manufactured, but my hat’s off to every one of them.

Truth be told, I know that every item I sometimes mindlessly plunk off the shelves and into my cart carries the signature of every person who has taken part in my good fortune, my health and often taken part in just plain good old-fashioned social joy of being in your store.

I am one of the blessed of this earth in that I have everything I need to survive this awful coronavirus assault on humankind. I see now that I have more of it thanks to you and yours.

Everything on your shelves is a gift, your employees are a gift, but the larger gift I did not realize until I stood mute and in awe looking at all the shelves, is this. You have given to those of us who are able to take advantage of it, the gift of normalcy and bounty.

Yes, a gift of normalcy and bounty in a time that will remembered as “normal” having been flushed down the toilet and bounty diminished. I do not know what tomorrow will bring, but I do know that for today you have my back.

With love and gratitude,

Janet Gallin

--

--